I didn’t take this photo. It was taken by John Carswell of the Shelbyville Daily Union — my hometown newspaper, where I did an internship the summer between my junior and senior years of college, and where I worked/regained my confidence in my professional abilities from November 1988 through February 1989.

The woman on the bicycle is my fifth-grade teacher, Dee Dee (Kull) Batson, whom I adore as much now as I did when I was 10. She has retired from teaching (and coaching, too, I believe), and she now has a paper route. Delivering the Daily Union.

She always remembers my birthday and tells my mom to tell me happy birthday when she sees her any time close to my birthday.

I love this photo.

 Dee Dee on Bike

Neither rain, nor sleet, nor even snow …
With more snow in the forecast, Dee Dee Batson is not deterred from delivering the Daily Union. “I did this when I was a little girl and I still enjoy it,” said a red-faced Batson as she finished her route on N. 9th St. Thursday afternoon. (From the Feb. 22, 2008, edition of the Daily Union online.)
John Carswell/Daily Union

