Even though I am pretty sure I do not have a single drop of Mexican or Spanish blood in me, I have been celebrating the holiday by cleaning (my house) and shooting (poppies and various other plants) and cooking (Mexican chicken, pico de gallo and guacamole) and watching/listening (to baseball: Astros 13, Cardinals 0 [Ouch!] and Cubs 5, Nationals 3) and eating! Oh, and now: blogging!

Here are today’s recipes:

Mexican Chicken (courtesy of Paula Deen)

1 whole chicken, boiled and cut into bite-sized pieces
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can cheddar cheese soup
1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes
1 pkg. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
12 corn or flour tortillas (I prefer corn)

Preheat oven to (what else?) 350 degrees F. Combine soups and tomatoes in a large bowl. Mix in about two-thirds of the chicken. (I saved the rest of it, along with the chicken broth, to make some chicken and noodles tomorrow.) Spray a 9-by-13 baking dish with Pam. Lay 6 tortillas in the baking dish, overlapping them to cover the bottom of the dish. Pour in soup and chicken mixture. Top with remaining 6 tortillas. Cover tortillas with shredded cheddar cheese. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until cheese has melted.

Pico de Gallo

4 tomatoes, diced
1 slice of red onion, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced into teeny-tiny pieces (I used only about one-fourth of a pepper)
Several leaves of cilantro, chopped
A couple of sprinkles of salt

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Chill before serving with tortilla chips or on tacos.

Guacamole

4 avocadoes, diced
1 pkg. guacamole spices
1 slice of red onion, diced
A few squirts of lime juice

Mix all ingredients in medium bowl. (I prefer to keep my avocadoes rather chunky.) Chill before serving with tortilla chips or on tacos.

Now if I only had a bottle o’ Corona to finish it all off!

