I don’t bake all that often. Last time I baked a cake was … well, about this time last year. Before that? I honestly don’t remember. I even skipped out on baking last Thanksgiving’s pumpkin pies, once I realized the ones at Wally World were reasonable facsimiles.

Talk about slacking. I was the one who had decided I would carry on the tradition of Grandma Ginny’s pumpkin pies, and I didn’t even last two years. Sorry excuse, I am, sometimes.

I decided to go all out for this weekend’s birthday bash, though, what with the yellow AND confetti cakes. But, get this: I decided to bake a layer cake with the yellow cake mix and chocolate frosting, and cupcakes with the confetti mix. Ooh, la la!

Turns out The Lovely decided to pitch in with some decorations, so I ended up with SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick confetti cakes … or, as I dubbed ’em, SpongeCakes!

Spongecakes

Then I ran out of SpongeBobs and Patricks, so I resorted to some leftover peace signs from the Scooby-Doo decorations. (This reminds me of Jane, mostly ’cause of the purple.)

Peace Sign Cupcake

Oh, and the layer cake turned out to be pretty nifty, too, but it wasn’t as photogenic.

Turns out Shannon wants me to help him make some cupcakes on Sunday for him to take to school Monday. Bake on!

